Mom Stuff · Pregnancy

My 5 Favorite Birth Stories

Let’s be honest, pregnancy is hard. It’s hard to grow a baby. It’s hard to ignore all the horror stories you will no doubt hear from countless well-meaning moms. It’s hard to think positive, empowering thoughts. It’s hard to not freak out about pushing a baby out of your body. And all of this tends to get harder the closer you get to your due date, at least that is my current experience. I have around 6 weeks left before my precious bundle is expected to make his or her appearance into this world, and I am desperate for empowering, encouraging stories about other women who brought their babies into the world naturally, the way I intend to as well. Since I work in my Father-In-Law’s chiropractic office, I have heard probably every birth story from every female patient over the last 5-6 months; and very few of them have been encouraging in my quest for natural childbirth. Now, don’t get me wrong, our patients are absolutely wonderful, and I don’t believe they were meaning to scare me or talk me out of going natural, they have been very supportive of my decisions. I do believe that as a society, we are taught to be afraid of labor and that leads to a lot of the scary stories that many women have. Most people don’t share their stories to scare other women, but simply because that is their experience and we feel the need to share our experiences particularly when it comes to pregnancy and birth. These are some of my favorite resources I have had to turn to in order to be able to stay in a positive mindset so that when I do go into labor, I can start off in the best possible state of mind with hundreds of empowering stories about women who gave birth naturally and loved their birth experience.

hand-palm-baby_v1

 

  1. A Water Birth Story – The Poopsie Collective, guest written by Jennifer Prinzing
  2. A Birth Story from Dad’s Perspective – Whole Family Parenting, part of their “Birth & Parenting Series”
  3. A Story of Natural Birth – The Little Things We Do, written by Lauren Hartmann
  4. A Story of a Painless Natural Birth – Growing Slower, written by Shannon
  5. A Home Birth Story in Pictures – Babble, written by Erin Loechner

 

What is your favorite birth story? Please feel free to share it with me here so we can all be encouraged together!

Leave a comment