Lifestyle · Mom Stuff · Pregnancy

A Letter to My Baby

woman-child-doctor-hospital_v1

Photo Source: Pexels

I recently came upon several articles that talk about mom’s writing letters to their baby while pregnant with them and saving it for when they are older. I felt moved to do this as we are quickly approaching the impending arrival of our little bundle of joy within the next 5-6 weeks. I wanted to share this with you because this has helped me to remain calm and relieve some of my anxiety as we get closer and closer to this life changing event. This has helped to keep me focused on the prize, the end result of labor, the reward for the months of mood swings, aches, and various other physical ailments during pregnancy. This keeps me focused on what is ahead and brings me a little closer to God and my baby each time I read it. I pray that if you choose to do this that it will help you as well.

 

Dear Baby,

I know you have heard my voice for a while now, but I cannot wait to hear yours. I cannot wait to hold you in my arms and tell you “I love you” for the first time face to face. I cannot wait to smell your pure, innocent scent for the first time. I want so badly to see your face, to find your father in you and to find me in you. I cannot wait to see what you will be like, what kind of person you will become, what kind of character you will have. Will you be sensitive, rambunctious, and introverted like your father? Will you be organized, playful, and outgoing like me? What will your passions be? Will you be driven by love and compassion? Or will you be driven by success? What will motivate you, what will make your heart smile? How will you grow? How will you learn? How will you cope with the hardness of this life? I want so badly to protect you from all the evil and disaster in this world and my heart already aches because I know I can’t. I know that one day you will fall and scrape your knee and I will do everything I can to make it better. I know that one day you will have your feelings hurt by the words or actions of another, and I will do everything I can to make it better. I know your life will not be the perfect utopia I wish it could be, but I can tell you that I will do my best to give you the best life I can while I can. There will come a day when you no longer come crying to me to fix it, and though I can’t see it now, I know it is coming awfully fast. The scariest part to me is that there will be a day when I can’t fix it, I can only watch as you have to learn how to pick yourself up and continue on the journey of life. Despite all the things that scare me, I am not scared of you. I am desperate to hold you. To touch the little feet that have been kicking me. To hold the hands that I could swear have been tickling me. To kiss the forehead I have so lovingly rubbed as often as I could find it. O little one, I simply want to hold you, comfort you, protect you, and most of all love you. For you are the one God gave to us. You are the one God picked for us. You are the one that God has blessed us abundantly with, and we will never forget that. God knew you before we did, and you will always belong to Him, we would never try to take you away from your Heavenly Father, but we will gladly accept you and do our best to lead you back to Him and His will for your life for as long as we have you. So until we meet face to face, know that I love you with all of my heart, and I pray that you will remain safe and continue to grow beautifully until the day you make your grand entrance into this world.

With Much Love,

Your Mom

 

Have you written your baby a letter? Would you care to share it with me? I would love to know what is on your heart as a mom.

Leave a comment